Latest News

First update of 2021!

Home > Classes > Base Classes > Berserker > Archetypes >

Hateful Rager

From a young age, many orcs are treated cruelly, bullied, ridiculed, and made outcasts. While some hide their shame, others foster a deep, burning hatred that they channel into a raw fury and unleash against their enemies.

The hateful rager is an archetype of the berserker class, available only to orc berserkers.

Archetype Main Ability Scores:
The hateful rager mainly focuses on STR/DEX for martial combat and CON and CHA for his class features.

Archetype Feature Replacements:
2nd Rage Powers.  8th – Bloodlust, Rage Powers. 9th – Silent Threat. 14th Rage Powers. 20th Rage Powers.

Reduced Rage (Ex)

At 2nd level and every level thereafter, a hateful rager only gains 1 additional round of rage per day instead of the normal 2 additional rounds of rage per day.

Favored Enemy (Ex)

At 2nd level, a hateful rager selects a creature subtype from the favored enemies table. He gains a +2 bonus on Bluff, Knowledge, Perception, Sense Motive, and Survival checks against creatures of his selected type. Likewise, he gets a +2 bonus on weapon attack and damage rolls against them. A hateful rager may make Knowledge skill checks untrained when attempting to identify these creatures.

If the hateful rager chooses humanoids or outsiders as a favored enemy, he must also choose an associated subtype, as indicated on the table below. (Note that there are other types of humanoid to choose from—those called out specifically on the table below are merely the most common.) If a specific creature falls into more than one category of favored enemy, the hateful rager’s bonuses do not stack; he simply uses whichever bonus is higher.

Table: Favored Enemies

Type (Subtype)
Humanoid (subtype)
Magical beast
Monstrous humanoid
Outsider (subtype)

While raging, the hateful rager makes every effort to fight a favored enemy rather than other opponents. If aware of the presence of a favored enemy, the hateful rager must make a DC 20 Will save each round to attack another creature; failure means the beastmaster must attack the favored enemy or move closer to that enemy. He may freely attack creatures preventing him from reaching that favored enemy (regardless of whether they are actively trying to prevent his attacks or merely in the way). He can avoid harmful obstacles normally in his attempts to reach the target and is not forced to take the shortest route.

This ability replaces the berserker’s rage power gained at 2nd level. At 8th, 14th, and 20th levels, in place of a rage power, he gains another favored enemy and increases his bonus against one favored enemy type.

Feed the Rage (Ex)

At 8th level, a hateful rager gains 1 additional round of rage for each favored enemy he knocks unconscious or kills in combat. These current rounds of rage can only be used to add to the duration of his rage, and disappear when the rage ends.

This ability replaces bloodlust.

Amplified by Hate (Ex)

At 10th level, a hateful rager adds half his favored enemy bonus to the DC of any rage power he uses against a favored enemy.

This ability replaces silent threat.

Rage Powers

The following rage powers complement the hateful rager archetype: come and get me, inspire ferocity, intimidating glare, overbearing advance, reckless stance, roused anger, terrifying howl.

Hateful Rager