Latest News

Last Update for the Year

Home > Magic > Spells > S >

School necromancy/summoning; Level necromancer 1

CASTING

Casting Time 1 round

EFFECT

Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Effect one summoned undead creature
Duration 1 round/level (D)
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance no

DESCRIPTION

This spell summons a single creature of the undead type to do your bidding, the creature must already be of the undead type, you cannot apply the undead type to any creature that isn’t undead. The summoned creature can be of any undead subtype that you choose each time you cast the spell with a CR rating of 1/3 or lower. It appears where you designate and acts immediately, on your turn. It attacks your opponents to the best of its ability. If you can communicate with the creature, you can direct it not to attack, to attack particular enemies, or to perform other actions. You choose which kind of creature to summon, and you can change that choice each time you cast the spell. Creatures summoned with this spell, or any higher variants, cannot have the Boss, Mini-Boss, Archfiend, or Primal subtypes.

A summoned undead creature cannot summon or otherwise conjure, create, animate, or make another creature appear, nor can it use any teleportation or planar travel abilities. Undead creatures cannot be summoned into an environment that cannot support them. Creatures summoned using this spell cannot use spells or spell-like abilities that duplicate spells with expensive material components, nor can they use any beneficial items that they come with on any creature but themselves.

Creatures summoned with this spell always have an alignment that matches yours, regardless of their usual alignment.

Summon Limitations: Since summoned creatures can bog down combat encounters, as well as overwhelm due to numbers, GMs may feel the need to limit the amount of summon spells active at once. Ask your GM which of the following rules they follow, Single Limit is the default:

  • Single Limit: You can only have 1 summon spell active at any one time. Another casting of a summon spell will replace the previous creature/s
  • Ability Modifier Limit: You can only have summoned a number of creatures equal to your casting modifier. Any creature/s over the limit can replace previous creatures or won’t be summoned.
  • No Limits: You can summon as many creatures as you wish.