Latest News

End of 2023 Update

Home > Classes > Base Classes > Cleric > Archetypes (Cleric) >

The priest is a divine caster that focuses on knowledge rather than martial combat ability. Unlike the basic cleric, the priest is usually not found on the front lines, preferring to advise from a distance while healing wounds and asking for divine assistance. In civilized lands, priests are often found in the upper echelons of religious orders, running monasteries and temples while their cleric brethren protect them from harm.

The priest is an archetype of the cleric class.

Weapon and Armor Proficiencies

A priest gains proficiency with all power weapons but no armor or shields.

This ability modifies the standard cleric weapon and armor proficiencies.


At 1st level, most priests worship deities associated with knowledge and learning. A priest’s deity influences his alignment, what magic he can perform, his values, and how others see him. A priest chooses two domains from among those belonging to his deity. A priest can select an alignment domain (Chaos, Evil, Good, or Law) only if his alignment matches that domain. In addition to any domains selected from his deity’s list, a priest automatically gains the Knowledge domain as a bonus domain (even if the Knowledge domain is not normally available to clerics of that deity). He gains the Knowledge domain granted power and may select his bonus domain spell from the Knowledge domain or from one of his two regular domains.

This ability modifies domains.

Lore (Ex)

At 1st level, thanks to long hours of study, a priest has a wide range of stray knowledge. He adds half his priest level (minimum 1) to all Knowledge skill checks, gains all Knowledge skills as class skills, and may make all Knowledge skill checks untrained.

This ability replaces class skills gained from a deific order.

Holy Symbol (Su)

At 1st level, a priest can present his holy (or unholy) symbol to a creature within 50 feet to cause it to take damage. As a standard action, a priest presents his holy symbol and deals holy damage (if good), shadow damage (if evil), or either (if neutral, chosen when presenting the holy symbol) equal to 1d6 points of damage + 1d6 additional damage per two cleric levels after 1st to those of the opposing alignment (if neutral, he can choose good or evil when he gains this ability). A creature that takes damage from this ability receives a Will save to halve the damage. The DC of this save is equal to 10 + half of the cleric’s level + his Charisma modifier. A priest may use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + his Charisma modifier.

This ability replaces channel energy.

Faith (Su)

A priest’s power is drawn from his faith, a deep and powerful belief in a deity. At 1st level, the priest’s faith manifests itself in a pool of points which fuel his powers. The priest’s faith pool is equal to half his cleric level plus his Charisma modifier (minimum 1). When using his holy symbol ability, he can expend 1 point of faith to increase the DC by 1. A priest can spend additional faith points to increase this DC by 1 at 5th, 10th, 15th, and 20th level. The priest regains all expended faith when he regains MP each day.

This ability modifies faith and replaces deity’s intuition.

Faith Talents

A priest gains access to the following faith talents.

Extra Holy Symbol (Ex): A priest can use his holy symbol 3 more times per day. This faith talent can be taken multiple times.

Frighten Symbol (Su): When a priest presents his holy symbol, if the creature fails it’s Will save, it is also frightened for 1d6 rounds. Prerequisite: The priest must be at least 8th level to select this faith talent.

Improved Holy Symbol (Su): A priest adds half his cleric level and his Charisma modifier to his holy symbol damage. Prerequisite: The priest must be at least 4th level to select this faith talent.

Stunning Symbol (Su): When a priest presents his holy symbol, if the creature fails it’s Will save, it is also stunned for 1 round. Prerequisite: The priest must be at least 12th level to select this faith talent.

Domain Lore (Su)

At 2nd level, a priest selects a single domain from the list of domains (does not have to be from his deity’s list of domains). This domain cannot be one he has already selected, whether as a domain or with domain lore. Add that domain’s list of spells to his list of domain spells. The priest selects an additional domain and adds its spells to his list of domain spells at 10th level and again at 18th level.

This ability replaces divine combat and divine spellcasting.

Perfected Symbol (Su)

At 17th level, when a priest uses his holy symbol ability, he can choose to reroll any 1s or 2s when determining how much damage he deals with this ability.

This ability replaces true channeler.

Domain Mastery (Su)

At 19th level, a priest selects 2 domains that he selected with domain lore. The domains he selects cannot offer granted powers that he already possesses. He gains those domain’s granted powers.

This ability replaces aspect of the deity.