Latest News

End of 2023 Update

Home > Classes > Base Classes > Necromancer > Archetypes (Necromancer) >

Those who seek to raise an unyielding obedience from the dead willingly tread the path of necromancy.

The necromaster is an archetype of the necromancer class.

Summon Undead I (Sp)

Starting at 2nd level, a necromaster can cast summon undead I as a spell-like ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + his Charisma modifier. Drawing upon this ability uses up the same power as the necromaster uses to call his bone commander. As a result, he can only use this ability when his bone commander is not summoned. He can cast this spell-like ability as a standard action and the creatures remain for 1 minute per level (instead of 1 round per level).

At 4th level, and every 2 levels thereafter, the power of this ability increases by one spell level, allowing him to summon more powerful undead creatures (to a maximum of summon undead IX at 18th level).

A necromaster cannot have more than one summon undead spell active in this way at one time. If this ability is used again, any existing summon undead immediately ends. This part of the ability is negated upon reaching 20th level (see True Necromancer, below).

These summon spells are considered to be part of his spell list for the purposes of spell trigger and spell completion items. In addition, he can expend uses of this ability to fulfill the construction requirements of any magic item he creates, so long as he can use this ability to cast the required spell.

This ability replaces undead body.

Channel Dark Energy (Su)

At 3rd level, a necromaster can release a wave of energy by channeling the power of shadow. This energy can be used to cause or heal damage, depending on the type of creatures targeted.

A necromaster channels dark energy and can choose to deal shadow damage to living creatures or to heal undead creatures.

Channeling energy causes a burst that affects all creatures of one type (either undead or living) in a 30-foot radius centered on the necromaster. The amount of shadow damage dealt or healed is equal to 1d6 points of damage plus 1d6 points of damage for every two necromancer levels beyond 3rd (2d6 at 5th, 3d6 at 7th, and so on). Creatures that take damage from channel dark energy receive a Will save to halve the damage. The DC of this save is equal to 10 + half of the necromancer’s level + his Charisma modifier. Undead creatures healed by channel dark energy cannot exceed their maximum hit point total—all excess healing is lost. A necromaster may channel dark energy a number of times per day equal to 3 + his Charisma modifier. This is a standard action that does not provoke an attack of opportunity. A necromaster can choose whether or not to include himself in this effect.

This ability replaces harm touch.

Command Undead (Su)

At 4th level, using foul powers of necromancy, the necromaster can command undead creatures, making them into his servants. As a standard action, he can use one of his uses of channel dark energy to enslave undead within 30 feet. Undead receive a Will save to negate the effect. The DC for this Will save is equal to 10 + half of the necromancer’s level + his Charisma modifier. Undead that fail their saves fall under the necromaster control, obeying his commands to the best of their ability, as if under the effects of control undead. Intelligent undead receive a new saving throw each day to resist his command. He can control any number of undead, so long as their total Hit Dice do not exceed double his necromancer level. If he uses channel dark energy in this way, it has no other effect (it does not heal or harm nearby creatures). If an undead creature is under the control of another creature, the necromaster must make an opposed Charisma check whenever his orders conflict.

This ability replaces unholy fortitude.

Aura of Desecration (Su)

At 5th level, a necromaster can create a 20-foot-radius aura of evil power. This aura increases the DC of channeled dark energy by +1 and the turn resistance of undead by +1. At 7th level and every 2 levels thereafter, the radius of the aura increases by 5 feet, to a maximum of 55 feet at 19th level.

This ability replaces fear aura.

Possess Undead (Su)

At 9th level, a necromaster may take direct control of one of his undead minions within his aura of desecration, as if using magic jar; the undead creature acts as the soul receptacle for this ability. The minion gets no saving throw against this ability.

This ability replaces miasma.

Desecration Zone (Su)

At 12th level, a necromaster’s aura of desecration is imbued with negative energy, affecting only allied undead creatures (and the necromaster, if also undead). Undead within the necromaster’s aura gain a +1 profane bonus to all attack rolls, damage rolls, and saving throws plus an additional +1 bonus per two necromancer levels after 12th.

This ability replaces an advanced necromancy talent gained at 12th level.

True Necromancer (Su)

At 20th level, a necromaster has mastered the ways of controlling undead. When casting animate dead or using the command undead feature, the necromaster treats his necromancer level as 5 higher for the purpose of controlling undead. In addition, his summon undead class feature no longer has a limit of one summon undead spell active at a time and now allows him to use the summon undead class feature even while his bone commander is summoned with no repercussions.

This ability replaces lich transformation.