Latest News

2nd update of the new yea...

Home > Classes > Core Classes > Warrior > Archetypes (Warrior) >

The sagas of the northern people are filled with stories of mighty warriors sailing south to raid the peoples of warmer climes and returning with longships filled with plunder. The northerners call these warriors vikings, and their deeds are sung in the longhouses during the long winter nights. A viking strikes fear into the heart of her foes, and in battle can fly into a terrible rage. Many vikings wear the pelts of bears or wolves, drawing on the strength and ferocity of these beasts in battle. Vikings do not wear heavy armor, but are skilled at fighting with an ax or spear in conjunction with a shield.

The viking is an archetype of the warrior class.

Archetype Main Ability Scores:
The viking mainly focuses on STR/DEX for martial combat, CON for their class features, and STR and CHA for optional class features.

Archetype Feature Replacements:
1st – Armor Proficiencies. 2nd Warrior Talent. 3rdWarrior Techniques. 4thPhysical Resilience. 6thWarrior Talent. 8thWarrior Talent. 10thWarrior Talent. 12thWarrior Advanced Talent. 14thWarrior Advanced Talent. 16thWarrior Advanced Talent. 18thWarrior Advanced Talent. 20thWarrior Advanced Talent.

Armor Proficiency

A viking is not proficient with heavy armor.

Fearsome (Ex)

At 2nd level, a viking can make an Intimidate check to demoralize an opponent as a move action. At 10th level, she can do so as a swift action. At 18th level, she can demoralize a foe as a free action once per round.

This ability replaces a warrior talent gained at 2nd level.

Shield Defense (Ex)

Starting at 3rd level, a viking learns the art of fighting with a shield. Whenever she is wearing medium, light, or no armor and wielding a shield, the viking’s shield bonus to AC increases by 1. Every four warrior levels thereafter (7th, 11th, 15th, and 19th), this bonus increases by 1.

This ability replaces overhand chop and increase save from warrior techniques.

Berserker (Ex)

At 4th level, a viking gains the rage and rage forms abilities as the berserker class feature, but her berserker level is considered to be her warrior level –3.

This ability replaces physical resilience.

Rage Powers (Ex)

Starting at 6th level, whenever a viking gains a warrior talent or advanced talent, she can instead choose to gain a single rage power, as the berserker class feature, in place of it. Once selected, these rage powers cannot be changed. Her berserker level is considered to be her warrior level –3 for these rage powers.